Connection is a two-way street. Before a conversation can get off the ground both users have to have swiped to the right to create a match.
Users who have First Move privileges will be able to send the first message directly from the ‘Boom’ screen which appears once two users match, or you can go to your connections screen by tapping the grey logo in the upper right-hand corner to view and message your matches.
Remember: First Moves are time-sensitive! You have 24 hours from the time you match with someone to send the first message. If you’re feeling nervous, try using one of our Conversation Starters to break the ice.
If you don’t have First Move privileges you have to wait for the other user to send the first message. Once they do you will be able to reply to them to lock in your connection.
Remember: You have 24 hours to respond to a First Move! If you see that a connection is expiring soon you can use your Daily Extend feature to give them a little more time to break the ice.
Because BFF only shows users who identify as the same gender, everyone has First Move privileges. This means either party is able to send the first message once a match is created either from the ‘Boom’ screen or their connections.
Remember: The 24-hour limit still applies in BFF Mode so don’t miss out on the chance to connect!
Because networking can sometimes be a bit more of a process, Bizz Mode works a little differently.
Once a match is established, users with First Move privileges have seven days to send the first message from the ‘Boom’ screen or their connections. From the time the first message is sent, users without First Move privileges have seven days to respond in order to lock in the connection.